Who is your favorite book character?

Every Wednesday we are going to give you readers a chance to tell us about different aspects of books and reading in your life. One or more of the Page Turners will answer the question and then we would like to hear from you!


My absolute favorite book character Dominick Birdsey the protagonist from I Know This Much is True, by Wally Lamb.  I mostly loved this character because he was written so complex, yet believable.  His reactions to extreme  adversity and the writing of his relationship with his schizophrenic twin brother is some of the most brilliant character development and storytelling I have encountered in my reading history.

Who is your favorite book character?

7 responses to “Who is your favorite book character?

  1. Janie, in Their Eyes Were Watching God. I could on and on why this is but suffice it to say, Janie endured and preservered despite being black, a woman and poor.

  2. Shelby from Eric Jerome Dickey’s Friends and Lovers. She was one of the first characters that I read that reminded me of myself so much that it jarred me a bit.

  3. My favorite character is “L” form the novel Love by Toni Morrison.

  4. My favorite book character is Donovan from Bernice L. McFadden’s book “Loving Donovan”. My favorite book from my favorite author.

  5. My favorite literary character from a proper novel is Derek Strange from George Pelecanos’ crime novels set in D.C. He’s a middle-aged, black former police men, and current private detective who operates his own agency in the middle of D.C. in the Petworth neighborhood. Check out A Hard Revolution, Right as Rain, and Shame the Devil.

  6. I picked up this book at the Goodwill Bookstore yesterday and put it back. I guess I’ll have to go back and get it.

  7. I don’t have a favorite character as of yet. But I so enjoyed this book. I need to ponder on this for a while.

Leave a Reply

