Who is your favorite author?

Every Wednesday we are going to give you readers a chance to tell us about different aspects of books and reading in your life.   One or more of the Page Turners will answer the question and then we would like to hear from you!

Gloria Naylor

 

My favorite author of all time is Gloria Naylor.  She is most famously known for The Women of Brewster Place which was also a very popular TV-Movie.  I have read all of her books multiple times.  Some of my favorites include Mama Day (which I reviewed here), Bailey’s Cafe, and Linden Hills. I love her intricate story telling, depth of character development, and realistic dialogue and subject matter.  I feel she is one of the most important and dynamic 20th century American writers.

 

Who is your favorite author, and why?

9 responses to “Who is your favorite author?

  1. Although Ms. Naylor isn’t my favorite author, Mama Day is in my top 5 books and I have read it at least that many times.

    My top 3 would have to be:
    J. Califorina Cooper
    Pearl Cleage
    Bernice McFadden
    Eric Jerome Dickey (honorable mention)

    Those 3 ladies tell a story that keeps me from beginning to end, I’m usually done in 3 days tops of any book of theirs that I read.

  2. I love Ms. Naylor and I really wish she’d be able to come out with something new. Her writing is so lyrical, mystical…spellbinding in a way. She is one of the few authors out there who had me buying every single one of her books after I initially read The Women of Brewster Place. The only book I ever had issues with was Bailey’s Cafe but that was because I was simply too young (early teens) to understand the symbolism in her stories. I have a few favorite authors, but if I had to choose, I’d say mine is Toni Morrison, with an honorable mention give to Junot Diaz.

    • Considering my reading tastes you would think I would be a big Toni Morrison fan, but I have not been able to get into her. Maybe I will give her another try now that I am older.

      • You didn’t like Sula? She became my favorite author just on the strength of that one novel. If I dont like the rest of her works (which I can say about “Love” and “A Mercy”), she still has my loyalty because of that one story. lol I totally understand how some people cant get in to her though.

  3. It is always difficult for me to answer this question. I just like good books. I don’t really pay attention to who wrote them. If I look on my bookshelf, I probably would find more than two books by any one author.

  4. I go back and forth on this question so much. My stock answers vary between Zora Neale Hurston & Toni Morrison, but Bernice McFadden has crept up in there too lately. Her writing is just so gutwrenchingly haunting, yet beautiful.

  5. I have so many and Naylor is definitely up there as is Bernice McFadden and Zora Neale Hurston as mentioned by J. Nicole. I have read all of Naylor’s books too and the ones you mention are my favorites. As a matter of fact, I am rereading Mama Day sometime soon in a book challenge of rereading old classics. ZNH’s Their Eyes Were Watching God was a book that was a life changing for me.
    I have to always go back to my all-time favorite as James Baldwin. I discovered him as young teenager and just fell in love. I remember reading and not understanding some of it but loved the language, his voice and have reread several of his books. There are many others. I will write later in depth; gotta get back to work. 🙂

  6. Mt favorite author at the moment, is Gort Deverall on Ebooks kindle at Amazon. He seems to have an uncanny perception of the female mind, and the machinations’ our sex is capable of. Quite scary really. Apart from the aforementioned, his stories are full of adventure and intrigue, which reveals a very fertile imagination.

Leave a Reply

