What is your favorite film adaptation of a book?

Every Wednesday we are going to give you readers a chance to tell us about different aspects of books and reading in your life.   One or more of the Page Turners will answer the question and then we would like to hear from you!

Quite often books are turned into movies, some of them being terrible, but there are some that manage to make a great impact and provide us with some fabulous entertainment.  My favorite is “Shawshank Redemption” which is a film adaptation of the novella  Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption, by Stephen King from his collection Different Seasons.

What is your favorite film adaptation of  a book?

11 responses to “What is your favorite film adaptation of a book?

  1. I loved that Waiting to Exhale and How Stella Got Her Groove Back were turned into movies. I wish the new Getting to Happy book would become a movie. A Day Late and A Dollar Short by Terry McMillan would be a good movie too!

  2. The Color Purple and Memoirs of a Geisha. They both translated well despite the critics. These are movies I can watch over and over, that bring the characters of the book alive.

  3. The Color Purple, most definitely. I felt the film adaptation did so much justice to the novel.

    & although it’s not a major motion picture I really did adore the adaptation of Alex Haley’s Queen a lot.

  4. I always dislike a movie if I’ve read the book prior to seeing it. The one time I havent disliked the movie was when I read “The Scarlet Letter” back in high school and watched the movie for an assignment. I dont quite remember what the assignment was about but I do recall watching the version of the movie with Demi Moore and loving it.

  5. Nakia,
    You mean you would rather see the movie first? I want to read the book; that way I know what the story is about and can base the film on how closely it resembled the boook. What movies have you seen the film first and then read the book. How does that change your view of the movie vs. the other way around?

  6. Dera, no I mean usually when I read a book first, I have no desire to see the movie because I know I wont be satisfied with it. I guess books are just too deep and can never really be matched on the big screen, in my opinion. It’s much better for me to see the movie first because without any connection to the book, there is a possibility that I will like the movie, as is the case with movies like “The Color Purple”. I saw the movie first of course and liked it. Then I read the book when I was much older and fell in love with it. Had it been the other way around, I most likely would have loved the book, but been disappointed in the movie. I’m always highly irritated by movie adaptations if I’ve read the book first.

  7. I think Color Purple is on every favorite list but I love Sins of the Mother starring Jill Scott. It’s a Lifetime movie based on the book Orange Mint and Honey by Carleen Brice.

    The movies based on John Grisham’s books are also always the bomb.

    I was glad I read Push by Sapphire before I watched Precious as well.

  8. Color Purple
    Cold Mountain
    Antoine Fisher
    The Secret Life of Bees

    Least favorite: The Lovely Bones. Peter Jackson completely screwed that up.

    • I’m so scared to watch “The Lovely Bones”. That book was wondeful, but all i’ve heard was bad reviews regarding the movie.

      • That movie was really bad. Peter Jackson made the “Lord of The Rings” movies and apparently his vision of heaven is as “fantastic” as those tales. It came off very cheesy. I didn’t like it at all. The acting was very good, though.

Leave a Reply

